Biology Is Interesting Indeed!

A Mother’s Day Song (Biologically)

To make one me you just add
Half of mom and half of dad
That is what I once believed
But I know now that I was wrong
I got so much more from you mom
Than just half a set of genes
I got nutrients and transcription factors
and nearly everything that matters
plus my prenatal environment (transplacental inheritance)
mRNA, mitochondria,
That back in the day once belonged to ya (they’re cytoplasmic)
and I just want to thank for supplying them

Just like two strands of DNA are spirally entwined
Your nature and your nurture are inspiringly combined
Scientists remind me and I find that it is true
Slightly more than half of everything I am is thanks to you

Mitochondria power my cells
and they have DNA as well
Transcription factors modulate transcription
And since they’re in the cytoplasm
The eggs the only one that has em
and sperm I guess they don’t have much ambition

My sex determination gene means that I’m a guy
From you I got my X chromosome, from Dad I got my Y
X has over a thousand genes, Y has less than 92
Thats why more than half of everything I am is thanks to you

I roomed in your womb for nine whole months and never paid the rent
Your glucocorticoids shaped my hypothalmic development
I took in your blood and sucked it dry of every nutrient (it’s gross but true)
Sometimes I wonder where the time went (where did it go)
Sometimes I wonder where it went

I know I’ll never understand all you have done for me (I’m not that smart)
But since you paid for college I’ll get my B. S. degree (bachelor of science)
And I have learned it’s not BS but absolutely true
Slightly more than half of everything I am is thanks to you.


p.s. Dapat lagu ni dari blog Jpah. Hehe, especially dedicated to my doctor-to-be friends and biologist-to-be friends. To SPM students, never dislike Biology and don’t be so stressed out studying Biology because Biology is very interesting indeed! All the best to all of you.🙂

And most importantly, be a good child and love our mum (and dad)!

Dan Kami wajibkan manusia berbuat baik kepada kedua ibu bapanya; ibunya telah mengandungnya dengan menanggung susah payah dan telah melahirkannya dengan menanggung susah payah. Sedang tempoh mengandungnya berserta dengan tempoh menceraikan susunya ialah dalam masa tiga puluh bulan.

Setelah dia besar sampai ke peringkat dewasa yang sempurna kekuatannya dan sampai ke peringkat umur empat puluh tahun, berdoalah dia dengan berkata: Wahai Tuhanku, ilhamkanlah daku supaya tetap bersyukur akan nikmatmu yang engkau kurniakan kepadaku dan kepada ibu bapaku dan supaya aku tetap mengerjakan amal soleh yang Engkau redai; dan jadikanlah sifat-sifat kebaikan meresap masuk ke dalam jiwa zuriat keturunanku. Sesungguhnya aku bertaubat kepadamu dan sesungguhnya aku dari orang-orang Islam (yang tunduk patuh kepadamu).

Al-Ahqaf : 15

Allahu’alam.

2 thoughts on “Biology Is Interesting Indeed!

  1. Salam!

    Baruk ariya kmk mdh ngan kwn kmk yg kmk rindu biology. Sbb tersgt lah simple and it made everything looked interesting.

    Tapi bila dah di-divide to pathology, microbiology, pharmacology etc, aiseh. Minat ya kadang2 rasa macam terpaksa, lol.

    So, hargailah biology selagi ada😉

    1. Salam!

      hehe, “hargailah biology selagi ada” –>nasihat yang baik untuk kanak-kanak yang bakal ambik SPM yang suka komplen pasal Biology.😛

      p.s. rindu Biology juak, especially kelas Cikgu Suhana.

      (^_^)

Leave a Reply

