A New Leaf

It has been a week since my last post. Alhamdulillah, I’m feeling much better now.

A few days ago, a friend of mine shared a video of Sheikh Hamza Yusuf on her Facebook wall. A very interesting talk by Sheikh Hamza Yusuf. He mentioned the following in the video:

“…the idea of happiness is being pleased with what Allah has decreed for you. That is the true happiness…”

Probably, this knowledge has been one of  the ‘asbab’s that has brought peace to my heart and mind. Alhamdulillah.

Do watch the video. It’s very enlightening.

The Continuity Equation

About 3 days after I sat for the Transport Phenomena 3 paper last Friday, it finally occurred to me why I got stuck in applying the Navier-Stokes equation in the related question(s) that I chose to answer in the exam. I believe that, the reason lies in the continuity equation.

I assumed it is a 2-D system, so there’s no change in the z-direction.

I also assumed that the flow of fluid is unidirectional i.e. the fluid only flows in x-direction, which means no flow in y-direction. Thus, velocity, v = 0.

Hence, (supposedly) I can cancel-off the second and the third term in the continuity equation and the equation becomes: du/dx = 0.

However, during the exam, I was unable to recognise the fact that I can cancel-off the second term as well, thus I was left with:

du/dx + dv/dy = 0

…which has made my attempt(s) to simplify the Navier-Stokes equation unsuccessful.

Err, at least I think so. Correct me if I’m wrong.

I’ll be meeting my tutor this Monday for the usual start of semester tutor-tutees meeting. I don’t know if I want to discuss about the paper with my tutor during the meeting (mind you, my tutor is the lecturer for the subject). -_-“

Allah The All-Knowing

This sudden insight on my exam reminds me of the du’a that is commonly recited by most of us,

“They (angels) said: Glory be to You, we have no knowledge except what you have taught us. Verily, it is You, the All-Knower, the All-Wise.”

[Al-Baqarah : 32]

This very reminder is also stated in ayatul Kursi:

“….Yang Mengetahui apa yang ada di hadapan mereka dan apa yang ada di belakang mereka, sedang mereka tidak mengetahui sesuatu pun dari (kandungan) ilmu Allah melainkan apa yang Allah kehendaki…”

[Al-Baqarah : 255]

No matter how badly we want something in this life, it’s not up to us whether we’ll get it or not. What matters most is that our acceptance on what Allah has decreed for us.

Revolution Era

On another note, what is happening in the Middle East; first Tunisia then Egypt, then followed by the nearby countries is very inspiring! It’s the uprising of the people to overthrow the corrupt leaders in  those countries. In the UK, the media here highlights more on what’s happening in Egypt.

The other night, Hosni Mubarak said that he will not participate in the coming election in September but will remain with his presidency role until then. But, that is not what the Egyptian people want, they want him to step down now! I just don’t understand why it’s hard for Hosni Mubarak to understand the voice of the Egyptian people – it’s very obvious that they hate him very much.

Anyway, I really hope that this historical moment will open the eyes of my people back in Malaysia. We MUST fight against the corrupt leaders. I do not wish for us to become like Tunisia or Egypt though – we can protest but we should do it without violence unless we have reached the point where we can’t trust the existing system anymore.

If the Egyptian people are sick of Hosni Mubarak because of his 30 years in power, so do us the Sarawakians – we’re sick living under the 30 years-administration of you-know-who!

The current event in Egypt also highlights the Muslim Brotherhood (Ikhwanul Muslimin). The media here has been talking about ‘what will happen next if Hosni Mubarak steps down?’ What interest me is that, the prospect of Muslim Brotherhood – the largest and most organised opposition group – to replace Hosni Mubarak’s administration.

If you have never heard of Muslim Brotherhood, they are just like PAS in Malaysia. Obviously, Egypt allies such as US and Israel got cold feet with the prospect of Muslim Brotherhood to replace Hosni Mubarak’s regime in Egypt.

The above photos show the protesters praying during the protest. I told my housemates while we were watching BBC News on TV, “Kalau orang lain tengok orang Islam solat berjemaah saja dah boleh buat orang ‘takut’ dengan kita.”

Why did I say so? Because we, Muslims, are at our best only when we’re united. History has proved this fact. Allah has mentioned the importance of unity among Muslims in the Quran. That is why in the downfall of the Ottoman empire, what the enemies of Islam did was to ensure Muslims were not united in order to defeat the Muslims.

I do hope that this event will also be the turning point to unite all the muslims in the Middle East, in Malaysia, and around the world! Together we strive and fight for the victory of Islam, insyaAllah!

Conclusion

So the inter-semester break is coming to its end. The new semester will commence this Monday.

My partner and I will be meeting our project supervisor this Tuesday to discuss about our research project, insyaAllah. Yesterday, our supervisor emailed us about 15 academic papers – as the background reading for our research project on ‘fluid dynamic gauging’.

I am looking forward for this new adventure!🙂

 

p.s. Let us make du’a for the well-being of the Egyptian people and may the zalim regime go down in Egypt (and in any other countries around the world).

 

Allahu’alam.

One thought on “A New Leaf

  1. *additional note: I’ve met my tutor + TP3 lecturer just now. Indeed, the indicated mistake that I made was validated. The continuity equation should be: du/dx = 0

Leave a Reply

