Of FDG, CFD and the Bolehland of Malaysia

 

Fluid dynamic gauging – ‘The Rig’

So it has been 5 weeks since my last post eh? I would love to write about few things that occurred in that period but this whole research project thing has taken most of my life! About few days after Frank Morton, my partner and I started the experimental part of our research project.

I’ve never been working as hard as how we did for this research project. I mean, most of the 3rd-years were in 9W building from 10 to 5 doing labs etc etc for the last few weeks. Less time for Facebook (which is a good thing), less time for emails and Skype-ing with my family (not good).

The experiment took one solid week then we stopped for a couple of days because my partner had to go somewhere in North Wales for his placement interview. We continued the experiment now and then and finally we finished the experiment last Tuesday!

Nevertheless, I was working with CFD simulations while my partner was away. Awesome experience with CFD simulations! Learnt a lot (though that didn’t make me a pro in CFD. LOL!).

Thanks a lot to my supervisor’s PhD student (he has the same family name as my cousins’ (!) i.e. the same family name as the author of ‘Chronicles of Narnia’), he has been such a great help to us in learning how to use CFD (we were using a software called COMSOL Multiphysics). I also learnt some new Excel skills (we need to extract data from COMSOL to Excel) from my supervisor and my partner as well. Thanks to them too! Alhamdulillah.

One of the results from CFD simulations. Using CFD, we can see how the liquid flows. The colours indicate the velocity of the flow.

*You need to click on the image to actually see the effect, same goes with the other CFD image below*

Other than that, I had the chance to go to some interesting talks during the weekends i.e. PERGH 3 @ Southampton, Discover Your Deen (DUDE) @ York and Forum Perdana Ehwal Islam @ London (with Ustaz Erfino as the moderator; UZAR, Dr. MAZA and Dr. Maszlee as some of the panelists). Heh, do watch out for the show in TV1. Probably the recording will be aired sometime in April or May, insyaAllah. Who knows you might see some familiar faces.😛

 

Another interesting ‘patterns’ that you could get out of a CFD code

Of course, there were miserable days as well. Well, nothing that I would want to write here anyway.

Oh! Good news, a good friend of mine, Nurisa, is in the Europe at the moment! She was in the UK last week but I haven’t got the chance to see her before she went out of the UK again and insyaAllah will see her next week!🙂 (haha, one good motivation for me to get my report writing done as soon as possible  (deadline next Friday) so that I can give her and her friends a tour around Bath sometime next week! InsyaAllah) ^^

Ow, some updates on the current political situations in my beloved country, the ‘Bolehland’ of Malaysia. First, I would like to express my annoyance towards the ‘XXX video’ issue.

It’s not about the alleged person in the video but towards the ones (and whoever that was involved in the making) who made that unacceptable move by releasing the video to the public (buat laporan diam-diam, sudah. No need to show that inappropriate video to the public. So called ‘menegakkan kebenaran’, so obvious that those people have other intentions). -_-“

I shared my opinions on this matter in Facebook, here.

Also, the Sarawak State Assembly (Dewan Undangan Negeri) has been dissolved last Monday (around the same time the video was released, what a coincidence…not!). That means, the Sarawak State Election will be held soon which is on the 16th of April 2011.

Yeah, I say no more about this election. My mother doesn’t think it is a good idea for me to be really ‘involved’ in this campaigning thing so I rest my case on who or which party you should choose/vote. You know what I’ll say anyway (maybe, hehe).

But, I just want to say that, please, don’t just sit and wait, then complain for years, probably decades about how terrible/ corrupted you-know-who is, etc etc. (sia-sia jak tanggung dosa mengumpat). If you sincerely want things to change, you need to do something about it, right?

Prophet Muhammad (p.b.u.h) said:

“Whoever among you sees wrongdoing, let him rectify it with his hand. If he is unable, then with his tongue. And if he is incapable of that then with his heart and that is the weakest level of faith (iman).”

(Riwayat Muslim)

So, voting is a RESPONSIBILITY as a muslim, especially as the people of faith (mukmin). There is no such thing as being ‘neutral’. If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor!

Ok, you might say that ‘I’m not eligible to vote now’ or ‘I haven’t registered as an electorate’, fair enough. So the least you can do is to ‘encourage’ people (family & friends) to go out and vote! Will you? I know you will. If not, can you please do so? Cheers mate!😉

Last but not least, here is a song that has been my ‘theme song’ for the past week (I don’t know how this song is really related to me, I just like the ‘spirit’ of this song):

“…..But out of the darkness, I came the farthest
Among the hardest survival
Learn from these streets, it can be bleak
Except no defeat, surrender retreat

So we struggling, fighting to eat and
We wondering when we’ll be free
So we patiently wait, for that fateful day
It’s not far away, so for now we say

When I get older, I will be stronger
They’ll call me freedom, just like a Waving Flag
And then it goes back, and then it goes back
And then it goes back…..”

 

All the best to you who are having exams at the moment and all the best for me for my research project!

Hasbunallah wa ni’wal wakil (Allah is sufficient for us and He is our Guardian).

Allahu’alam.

Leave a Reply

